Recognizing sanitation and hygiene achievements in Africa. The African Ministers’ Council on Water (AMCOW) is pleased to invite entries for the maiden AfricaSan Awards competition.

AMCOW is the driving force behind the AfricaSan movement, a regional initiative that seeks to place sanitation and hygiene at the top of the development agenda in Africa. The AMCOW AfricaSan Awards are dedicated to recognizing outstanding efforts and achievements in sanitation and hygiene in Africa which result in large-scale, sustainable behavior changes and tangible impacts. The aim is to raise the profile of sanitation and hygiene by drawing attention to successful approaches, promoting excellence in leadership, innovation and sanitation and hygiene improvements in Africa.

AMCOW AfricaSan Awards (First Round)

This announcement is for the first set of award categories:

  • Leadership and Ministerial Award: to honor individuals or institutions who provided strong leadership to sanitation and/or hygiene improvement through policy and strategy development, advocacy, institutional arrangements, financing, coordination and capacity development. Nominees may include policy makers, leaders, and other personalities.
  • Technical Innovation Award: to honor individuals and institutions who contributed to the improvement of technical solutions for sanitation services and products to make them affordable, reliable, and sustainable. Nominees may include individuals, communities and organizations such as training/research institutions, technical enterprises, etc..
  • NGO/Civil Society Award: to honor individuals and institutions who supported and mobilized communities for the improvement of their sanitation and hygienic conditions. Nominees may include community/youth/women associations, NGOs, and non-profit organizations.

How to nominate

Nomination guidelines
You may nominate yourself or another individual or institution. Entries may be made by individuals or organizations based within or outside Africa. Nominations should include the name and contact details of the nominee, and a short statement (no more than 500 words)about their work and why they deserve the award. The nominees must be involved in sanitation and hygiene-related activities within Africa.
Nominations (in English, French or Portuguese) should be sent to  by October 9, 2009.

How winners will be chosen

Selection of Winners
Entries will be reviewed by a technical committee of experts and judged by a panel of eminent sector leaders. The judges’ decisions will be final. Winners will be announced in mid-October and sponsored to attend the Second African Water Week in South Africa, from November 9 to13, 2009), where they will receive a price, a trophy and a certificate.

More information

For more information please write to: 
or call: Thompson Abu (+234(0)803 311 9493)

A partnership initiative by AMCOW, in collaboration with the Water Supply and Sanitation Collaborative Council, the Water and
Sanitation Program, the African Development Bank, the World Health Organization and UNICEF.

Winners of EDUCATING AFRICA Awards 2009 announced! 2009 CASA AFRICA Essay Prizes Sieber Dissertation Award for African Art PhD Africa Thesis Award 2011 Household Water Resources and Rural Productivity in Sub-Saharan Africa

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

© 2011 SocioLingo Africa Suffusion theme by Sayontan Sinha